Star Trek Destiny – A Trilogy by David Mack

Star Trek: Destiny Trilogy by David Mack 

Book 1 – Gods of Night

Book 2 – Mere Mortals

Book 3 – Lost Souls

I consider myself to be an avid reader but if my dad had ever kept a reading log, it would have put mine to shame. He was constantly reading and his place was practically a library.

A few months ago, he showed me these books and said that I would really enjoy them. I was immediately struck by the name of the cover. David Mack is a great writer. He has even written Daredevil comics.

I finished the series just a few days before he passed away. I was hoping that we could talk a bit about it. It was a really nice read that fleshed out the Star Trek universe brilliantly.

The trilogy is set after the events in the last film Star Trek: Nemesis. I was never satisfied with that being the final film in the franchise. I wish this story had been adapted for an eleventh movie. That would have been a perfect ending to the voyages of The Next Generation crew. We so needed one more movie to send them off on a high note.

As I read this book, I could really envision the story unfolding in front of my eyes. It was great. I didn’t realize that I missed this crew so much. Even having Captain Dax was a nice touch.

About two-thirds of the way into Book 3, I was blown away by a particular passage. It wasn’t a plot twist either, it was a reveal that I never saw coming. I had to stop reading and think about it. Suddenly, it became clear. “I should have known,” I said to myself. Of course, that was after I yelled at the book fairly loudly.
I love when a book can do that.

I won’t give away any of the details of this trilogy. If you are a Star Trek fan, you will enjoy it. I’ll leave it at that.

My 2013 Reading Log